Carluke Primrose Orchestral Flutes



Player of the Year 2020 - Kirk Anderson Memorial Trophy

Posted by Carluke Primrose Orchestral Flutes on June 8, 2020 at 4:20 AM

Saturday evening (6th June) should have been our Annual Concert but due to current circumstances it was unable to go ahead. To mark the occasion we have decided to still award one of our members with our “Player of the Year” trophy. The Kirk Anderson Memorial Trophy is awarded annually at the discretion of the Musical Director. It recognises the special contribution of an individual within the orchestra. It may be awarded be on account of excellent playing, leadership or extra effort. The nominations for this year are:

David Lannigan­ – Our President, David has been a member of the orchestra for a number of years. He is extremely reliable and a fantastic flute player. Even though he is currently in the C Bass section of the orchestra, this hasn’t stopped him from filling in other sections when needed (and sometimes at extremely short notice!) This year he has played Subcontrabass, Contrabass, C Bass, Alto and Solo Concert! Thanks for all your hard work, David!

Gemma Wylie – Gemma is currently playing 1st Treble and has made massive improvements this year. I have been so impressed by her willingness to try and improve her playing. She has even been spotted playing C Bass in our most recent video! Well done, Gemma!

William Baird - William has only recently joined the orchestra and is working towards attainment of ABRSM Grade 2. As an adult beginner, he comes readily prepared to his lessons with many questions and his own suggestions for improvement – even spending time during lockdown watching masterclasses on YouTube! Although the music in the orchestra is challenging for him, he doesn’t let this stop him and is able to keep up with everyone – under the watchful eye of his lovely mother-in-law, Elaine. Well done, Willie!

Alison Weir – Our treasurer, Alison has been a member of the band for many years but often shies away from the spotlight. However she is a great flute player, ably leading the 1st C section every week. I hope she begins to believe in her talents! Well done, Alison!

The winner of the Kirk Anderson Memorial Trophy this year is William Baird. Congratulations to him!

Categories: None